Ag leader to be posthumously inducted into Hall of Honor



SIDNEY — The Sidney City Schools Hall of Honor will add four new inductees on Friday, April 22, 2022, at 7 p.m. in the Sidney High School auditorium to celebrate 27 years of the Hall of Honor and increase membership to 135 since its founding. Of those to receive the highest honor bestowed by Sidney City Schools is the late Robinson “Rob” W. Joslin, a local farmer with a big impact on Ohio agriculture.

Joslin was a lifelong farmer in Shelby County with his wife Ellen. A 1971 Sidney High School graduate, he began farming full-time after graduating from The Ohio State University in 1975 in partnership with his father and brother. Following his father’s death, together with Ellen, Joslin operated a 950-acre family farm corporation in Sidney, Ohio, raising soybeans and corn.

He had a lifelong relationship with 4-H and enjoyed learning parliamentary procedures during his early years at Starting Farmers 4-H Club. Later he enjoyed putting those experiences to work in his endeavors with the soybean associations.

Joslin was always an “early adopter” of new farm technologies, realizing the value of new practices and implementing them on his farm. For more than 25 years, Joslin’s operation was dedicated to conservation tillage and 100 percent no-till.

To say Joslin enjoyed agricultural policy work is an understatement. Joslin was an active member and past officer in the Ohio Soybean Association and The American Soybean Association serving as President and Chairman of both organizations over the years. Joslin was a member of the Farm Foundation NFP.

Joslin was also a member of the Ohio Corn Grower and Wheat Growers Association, Ohio Farm Bureau, Shelby County OSU Alumni group, and Sidney Rotary Club, as well as a member of the Sidney Moose, Elks and VFW. He dedicated 20 years of service as a 4-H adviser, while also serving on various agricultural-related advisory committees.

Joslin and his wife Ellen were married for 34 years and together they had a daughter, Gail.

Other members of the induction class being honored are Congressman Warren Davidson (SHS 1988), Eric “Rug” Harlamert (SHS 1976), and Erin Johnson (SHS 2000). A gymnasium reception will precede the ceremony beginning at 6 p.m. in the gymnasium; both events are open to the public.